Home

       IMG_9531When I think of my two homes (which is about twice a day or more), Northampton and Plymouth, my heart aches for them. I remind myself that those places will always be there and when I return I can spend more time enjoying my homes.

These two years may be my only chance to enjoy this island. In my second week on Majuro the teachers attended the Pacific Educational Conference. The theme for the conference was “Our Ocean. Our Islands. Our Children.” We learned that these islands might not exist in fifteen years because of climate change. We must educate the children about this and teach them how to make a difference. Not only the children on these islands but also children around the world. I’m not sure that my first graders would understand the idea that heir home may not be there when they become young adults. I am here to help these children get their education started so they can continue it and succeed anywhere their dreams take them.

That being said, I have a wonderful class. They are just like any first graders in any classroom in any part of the world.IMG_1243

I have three students that don’t speak much English, but in these short four weeks of school I can already see an improvement in their language skills. I have also had to learn more about how to support English Language Learners so that I can help them thrive throughout their years of school.

I have a student who needs extra support outside of the classroom and has difficulty with expressive and receptive language skills. He acts out movies and tries to speak to me through those actions—sometimes I understand, sometimes I don’t. He is one of the sweetest boys I have met. He kisses me and hugs whenever he leaves the classroom.

I have a mix of students who are at different reading, writing and math levels. I have been learning and figuring out how to support each of these children in my classroom, again so they can thrive anywhere in the world when they grown up.IMG_1440

When the time is right, I will talk to my first grade class about climate change and how they can help be the better change. Last week it was the first graders turn to pick up trash on the school campus and they couldn’t have been more excited to help. They all wrote about how they enjoyed cleaning up trash because it is dirty and they love being helpful.IMG_1641

I have also started a swim club with the special education teacher. Believe it or not, quite a few children do not know how to swim. We are going to teach them. This is a skill that I think all children should have and especially in this environment.

I am going to continue working hard to help these young children bloom into the amazing young adults I know they will become. I will do this by encouraging each of my students’ different needs by learning more Marshallese and skills to support English Language Learners, learning how to communicate through movies and then turning those actions into words, differentiating with reading, writing and math to ensure that each student gets what they need and by teaching them skills outside of the classroom I think are essential, such as swimming.IMG_1631

I am the youngest teacher here and I came straight out of college. I think that sometimes this is why I get homesick, because I have never lived on my own, never mind half way across the world. My friends and family were always right there when I needed them. I know they still are but the distance can make that difficult at times. I always remind myself that my homes will be there for me when I return.

After a month and a half on this beautiful island, I am thinking that I will add it to my list. I think that this place will be another home in my heart forever even (if or when) it no longer exists.IMG_1627

Emman mour in majel. Marshallese life is good.

2 thoughts on “Home

Leave a comment